Solar Energy Division and Advanced Energy Systems Division American Society of Mechanical Engineers

The Solar Energy and Advanced Energy Systems Divisions of ASME are soliciting nominations for the 2008 ASME Frank Kreith Energy Award. The award was established by the divisions in 2005 to honor an individual in recognition of significant contributions to a secure energy future through innovations in conservation and/or renewable energy technology. Contributions may be through research, education, and/or practice. The award is named in honor of Dr. Frank Kreith and recognizes his contributions to the fields of heat transfer and renewable energy.

Eligibility: Only candidates whose names have been submitted in nomination will be considered for the award. Criteria for the award will be based on, but not limited to any of the following:

  • 1

     1. Significant research contributions in energy conservation and renewable energy

  • 2

     2. Significant contributions to education related to energy conservation and renewable energy

  • 3

     3. Significant contribution to the practice of engineering through invention, design or implementation of innovations in the field of   energy conservation and renewable energy

  • 4

     4. Significant service to society that has lead to a more secure energy future.

Nominations: Nominations must be submitted using the standard ASME procedure for Society Awards. The required nomination and recommendation forms may be downloaded at The nomination package should include the nomination form, a curriculum vita of the nominee, a statement of the nominee's significant achievement(s) for the award, limited to two pages, and five recommendations. The recommendations should provide detailed evidence of the candidate's contribution to a secure energy future through innovation(s) in conservation and/or renewable energy technology. At least two of the references must be members of ASME and no more than one should come from the nominee's organization. An electronic copy (PDF format is preferred) of the candidate's package, including curriculum vitae, letters of recommendation, and the nomination form should be prepared and forwarded to the Chair of the ASME Frank Kreith Energy Award Selection Committee for review.

Deadline: All copies of the nomination package must be received no later than December 1, 2007.

Send nominations and inquiries to:

  • 1

           Chair,ASME Frank Kreith Energy Award Selection Committee

  • 2

           Prof. Jane H. Davidson

  • 3

           Department of Mechanical Engineering

  • 4

           University of Minnesota

  • 5

           111 Church St., S.E.

  • 6

           Minneapolis, MN 55455

Contact: Email:; Fax: 612-625-6069